Coronavirus – Federal Quarantine Act

Mar 25, 2020

Coronavirus – Federal Quarantine Act

As of midnight on Wednesday, March 25, 2020 all travellers returning home to Canada must go into mandatory self-isolation for 14 days according to new measures being enacted under the federal Quarantine Act.

Health Minister Patty Hajdu announced that all travellers, with the exception of “essential workers,” must isolate themselves upon their arrival in Canada to prevent further spread of the novel coronavirus.

While the government has been urging travellers returning to Canada to enter into a two-week self-isolation for weeks, the new measure will make it illegal to disobey. Those caught in contravention of the act may be subject to fines or even arrest, according to the federal government. To enforce the new legal obligation officials will begin collecting travellers’ contact information starting at midnight in order to follow-up with them to ensure they’re self-isolating.

Those essential workers returning to Canada from the U.S. will not be subject to the mandatory 14-day isolation.